Beauty · ROUTINES

Nail Care Routine

NAIL CARE

Few years ago, my nails were so brittle, flaky and downright unappealing! I tried to rectify this and after trying quite a few things I’ve finally found a nail care routine that works for me! This might be a lot of work for some people, but I enjoy painting my nails and usually do it to unwind while watching TV.

So let’s get started.

nails

First, take off your old polish with a nail polish remover.

Set your fingers in a bowl of warm water for 3 minutes. I suggest to add one tablespoon of salt and mix it in with the water for strong and healthy nails. If your nails are yellow, you can put baking soda or lemon.

Now with a cuticle pusher or an orange stick, push back gently your cuticles. Pushing your cuticles back is also easier to do when your fingers are wet.

Then I trim the length with the clippers. I leave them a little longer than I actually want them so there is some excess nail that will get filed off when I start shaping. Now it’s time to fill them. Remember to only file in one direction to avoid any splitting or cracking. These are some shapes to follow. The almond shape could weaken nails and make them more susceptible to breaks. Personally, I love the oval shape.

nail-shapes

And finally, moisture. For this step, use virgin olive oil on your nails and cuticles because it’s very rich and natural. Nail polish remover can really dry your skin out, so I always carry hand cream with me, especially during the winter. Hand cream and moisturizers are great for nails, as it targets the cuticles to promote healthy growth. Also, nails will retain the moisture, which decreases nail breaks.

Nail Care

P.S: Give your nails a break, especially if you wear polish all the time.

And that’s it. Are there any tips you would like to suggest? Let me know down below!

I hope you enjoyed this post. Until next time! Love, MN.

One thought on “Nail Care Routine

Leave a Reply

